1. Crucifix in a side chapel, Santa Prassede.

  2. Assisi.

  3. Pope Saint Felix IV (r. 526–530) and Saint Theodore of Amasea (d. 306) from the sixth-century mosaics of Ss. Cosma e Damiano in the Roman Forum.

  4. Zucchetto, cassock, and fascia of Pope Pius IX (r. 1846–1878), kept in the sacristy museum of the Basilica of Saint Mary Major.

  5. Rome in the morning.

  6. Baroque altarpiece of the Holy Name of Jesus, in San Vitale, Rome.

  7. A lion and an eagle (symbols of St. Mark and St. John, respectively). From the Basilica of San Marco al Campidoglio, Rome.

  8. Wooden cherub from San Lorenzo in Panisperna, the site of Saint Lawrence’s martyrdom.

  9. Papal heraldry in the Vatican Museums.

  10. The theological virtue of Hope (Vatican Museums).